The 4 T’s

wooden-heart-2My friends and I have a saying: “Every day is Valentine’s Day at BYU-I.”

I cannot even begin to tell you how accurate this statement is. You can’t go anywhere on campus without seeing a sap-happy couple prancing about in young, gooshy love.

Bluck. It is kinda gross, I’m not gonna lie. However, I must admit that the daily Gag Fests have inspired me.

You heard me – Inspired.

I have commenced contemplating my future and noting the qualities I want in my hubby.

Even though Elder David A. Bednar (apostle for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints) quite bluntly advised that no one should ever make a list for a future spouse, I take confidence in knowing that I have not created a list, but an agenda of qualities I wish for my future guy.

Oh, it’s not long.  Just four simple points.

Here goes.  My 4 T’s

1. Tall
I am a towering 6 feet tall. I really do not want to dwarf some poor guy. 
So yeah, tall would be nice.

2. Traits
This includes, but is not limited to, physical traits –  yes, looks are a minute part of this category, but they do not take priority.  What’s really important here is a long list of inner qualities and personality sets – Sense of Humor, Charisma, Friendliness, Confidence, Kindness, Athleticism, etc.

3. Talented
Some musical instrument, public speaking, teaching, writing, drawing, playing a sport – anything really. Passion, Focus, and Discipline are at play when nurturing a talent, and pretty key in a well-rounded guy. So, yes. Talented.  Oh, and being Smart is kind of a MUST.

Now the most important T:

4. Testimony
Extremely important. All other categories pale in comparison because even if a guy fills all other qualities – if he doesn’t have a testimony – he’s just not for me.

Why, so prudish, you say?  Good question.

Well, it just so happens that Testimony includes a whole boatload of other T’s – Trustworthy, True, Truthful, Thoughtful, Tender, Thankful, Temperate, and Temple-worthy.

See, now you agree with me.  These are the big guns of a great person.  Overall, however, he needs to love the Lord more than he loves me – he needs to love the Lord in order to love me.

“A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her.”

Max Lucado

There you have it, my recipe for a fine man. But when I look at this list (oops, Agenda) – I can’t help but think that it’s for me, too. My greatest hope is that I can grow and develop these same requirements myself. I’ll let you in on a secret: I’m definitely working on it.

Now, no one should have to try and fit into someone else’s mold.  For all I know, my One-to-be is creating such a List.

Yikes.

Bottom line, here: I’m not hoping to create a Cookie-cutter hubby.  No sirree.  But, in some strange way, I know that the Lord knows me – and knows him – and is watching over, strengthening, and preparing my dream guy as we speak.  And, who knows, once I meet him, I may join the sap-happy, Valentine’s Day frat club too.
 

 

 

 
They are starting to put ads on our blog. We do not approve these and are not getting any residuals whatsoever, so I apologize for the content. I’ll see what I can do about it.

Leave a Reply

