Just Keep Swimming

dory

Dory in Finding Nemo
Disney/Pixar 2000 Animated Film

Lupus is kicking my butt today. Pain. Fatigue.
It may slow me down, but it’s not going to stop me. I’m taking a lesson from Dory from Finding Nemo, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming.”

There is a purpose in this. I just haven’t put my finger on it. Frankly, I don’t know what my Nemo is – what I will eventually find. Could be the building of my character. Could be instilling me with patience. Maybe it’s developing copious amounts of fortitude.

Or, better yet, my Nemo is the knowledge and experience I am gaining in order to someday help someone else.

Wasn’t that Dory’s journey?

Remember Dory?  Her underwater adventure wasn’t for personal gain. No. Our little Blue Tang was on a mission to help a friend. Hers was a completely selfless crusade to aid frantic Marlin, the Clown Fish locate his missing son.

And, together, the two ventured across the Great Barrier Reef with the goal to arrive at the office of P. Sherman 42 Wallaby Way, Sydney, where they were sure to find Nemo. Before they met their goal, however, there were a few obstacles along the way: some scary encounters, mishaps, and Dory’s bouts of short-term memory loss, “Oh, where are we going?”

Sometimes, like Dory, I suffer from short-term memory loss. Why am I fighting forward?

Finding Dory

A slight obstacle. That’s when I only need remind myself. Ah, yes. I am not my disease. I am not Lupus. I just happen to be someone with Lupus. I am stronger than this. Just keep swimming.  

And, as I keep moving forward, who knows, I may eventually find my Nemo (or help somebody else find theirs).

In the meantime, thanks to Dory, the Tao of Nemo has, today, become mine.
Just keep swimming, just keep swimming. What do we do, we swim, swim, swim.

They are starting to put ads on our blog. We do not approve these and are not getting any residuals whatsoever, so we apologize for the content, and will see what can be done.

One thought on “Just Keep Swimming

Leave a Reply

