Buon Compleanno

Birthday Wishes1Hot off the email press is this awesome birthday wish from my missionary daughter, Ashley, in Syracuse, Sicily.  I just had to share it with you.

Ciao Mamma Mia!

Happy birthday!  I thought about you all this week, and was trying to think of something special I could do.  I finally decided I would get all Dante-like and write you a poem :).

I Know My Mom’s Italian
I know my mom’s Italian
Because for beauty Italians live.
My mom’s the same, and every day
Her artful heart she gives.

I know my mom’s Italian.
When she’s happy, she is loud.
“The heart needs volume, cara.”
Of this, Italians are proud.

I know my mom’s Italian
For the missionaries know
A casa nostra, mangi bene… [At our house, you eat well]
And then you eat some more.

I know my mom’s Italian:
She’s beautiful and wise;
She’s a joker with a hidden smile,
And her heart is in her eyes.

I know my mom’s Italian
Because Italians eat food well –
To bind, unite, inspire –
And we party, you can tell.

I know my mom’s Italian:
She sings opera spesso.
She may be playing silly,
(But most Italians are peggio).

I know my mom’s Italian:
Her family’s at life’s core.
It’s always first, it matters most,
She lives with full amore.

I know my mom’s Italian
Perche ovunque che io sia [Because wherever I go]
Sardegna, Roma, o Sicilia –
Penso a mamma mia [I think about my mom].

I know my mom’s Italian
Because I’m Italian too.
We are proud of our heritage,
So what’s a matta for you?

Buon Compleano!  Ti amo mamma.  I love you sooooo much!

Love,
Ashley

 
 

 

 

 
They are starting to put ads on our blog. We do not approve these and are not getting any residuals whatsoever, so I apologize for the content. I’ll see what I can do about it.

Leave a Reply

