I Believe in Signs

You did ask for a Sign

“Miracles surround us at every turn,
if we but sharpen our perceptions
to them.”
Willa Cather

“There are only two ways
to live your life.
One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything
is a miracle.”
Albert Einstein

Well, it happened again.  I was on my normal morning power walk and – BOOM – an answer was given to me…again.  I love it when that happens!

My walk started out very underwhelming – under a cloud.  Not a cloud of precipitation, it was a cloud of self doubt.  The challenges of life seemed to outweigh the resources, and I questioned my endurance.  I questioned my future.  And, quite frankly, I questioned God’s wisdom.  There is no way you can make this happen! was the theme of my prayer.

Can Button

The Button with His answer

Apparently God did not want me wasting another minute in the muck of mistrust because He had a retort to my “There is no way you can make this happen,” for quicker than you can say Doubting Thomas, I looked down and there on the sidewalk was a small button with one bold word on its face:  CAN.

It stopped me in my tracks.  Shaking my head, I picked it up and smiled; half in disbelief, half not surprised.
Of course you Can, I said in my thoughts.  Thank you.
Sorry for doubting.

I Believe in Signs
Signs.  Nods from heaven that someone is watching. Whispers to the heart that you are loved.  Evidences bringing answers in inexplicable ways with impeccable timing and indescribable accuracy.

I love signs.  Not that I’m a sign seeker, but I’m a die hard believer that we are not left alone in our journey.  Help and comfort are there for the taking if we just keep eyes, ears, and heart open to see it.

“I am a realist – I expect miracles.”
Wayne W. Dyer

Here are a couple more experiences.

Proof – Another Sign
Another day.  Another walk.  This time it was raining.  If you can believe it, the same faithless thoughts were marching through my mind, so I selected iPod music to undo the doubts and lift my attitude: The Prince of Egypt soundtrack.  Good stuff.

Proof Program

Proof He cares

As I walked, I listened and prayed and pondered.
A sort of active meditation, I guess you could call it.
I know what I’ve been promised, but there’s no way!”
I prayed in my mind, “There is no proof this will come to pass!” was what I blurted out in my mind.

The very second I made that statement, track 14 song played in my ears, “Many nights we’ve prayed with no proof anyone could hear…”

Simultaneously as I said “Proof” and the song blared the same word, I looked to the ground and there against the fence was a blue paper with the word “Proof” on its front.  It was a soggy Westmont school flyer for the play Proof.

What?

I felt like I was in a sort of weird vortex. The minute I verbalized “Proof,” an instant answer for my ears and eyes served my very own word back at me as proof that God can do anything – even hear my prayer and answer it.

Remarkable.

Here’s another story.

Never Give Up – It’s a Sign
As a young mom, I went through a spell of deep discouragement.  Just when things seemed at their darkest, I received some encouragement.

Never Give UpA nearby church put up the phrase, “Never Give Up!” on its front entrance.  Quite inspiring.  I felt like the words might have been a message just for me. But the next two weeks would prove that they indeed were.

We moved two cities away, and on one of my morning walks, I looked to my right and noticed a neighborhood house had a sign in their kitchen window stating, “Never Give Up!”

Hm.  Same exact message two cities away.  What are the odds?  I slightly brushed it off as a coincidence.

But then that same week, our family went out to eat at a local restaurant.  As we all sat around the long table perusing the menu, my son Connor (who was 5 years old at the time) turned to me and – out of the blue – said, “Mommy, never give up.”

“What did you say, Connor?” I asked, stunned.  Momentarily, everyone in the noisy restaurant seemed to disappear except for me and Connor.

“Never give up, mommy. That’s all,” he said, “Never give up.” Then he looked back down at his kid’s placemat and continued coloring. (For the record, I never said those words out loud to anyone).

One message, three times, in a two-week period.  What do you think?  Coincidence?  No way. That was no accident.  That, my friends, was a very cool, very personal sign.

I love signs.  Messages of Divine assistance.  Visual reminders of God’s presence.
Indicators of Heaven’s closeness.

The universe tells us things and it is our job to listen.

What Type of Person Are You?
I love the scene in the M. Night Shyamalan movie Signs where the two main characters have a conversation about this world being divided into two groups of people:

Group 1:  Those who see signs and see miracles
Group 2:  Those who think we are alone and life is mere happenstance

In their conversation, they pose a good question:  What type of person are you?

More and more I’m learning that if I look – if I open my eyes and observe – there are things that regularly let me know that God is very real and present in my life.  I don’t believe He fusses over me.  He does not split hairs micro managing the minutia of my life.  But I know He cares for me, listens to my prayers, calms my fears, brings peace to my heart, and delivers messages that direct my path and let me know that I am not alone.

I believe in signs.  What type of person are you?


M. Night Shyamalan’s Signs with Mel Gibson and Joaquin Phoenix

 

 

 

 
They are starting to put ads on our blog. We do not approve these and are not getting any residuals whatsoever, so I apologize for the content. I’ll see what I can do about it.

Leave a Reply

