Full of Years

532703

 

“In the end, it’s not the years
in your life that count.
It’s the life in your years.”
Abraham Lincoln

“The purpose of life
is a life of purpose.”
Robert Byrne

 

In scripture, there is a thought-provoking expression attributed to one’s life. Periodically, when a prophet dies, the verse says he died “full of years.”  The phrase is used to describe Abraham, Isaac, Job, and King Benjamin.  Here is the verse about Abraham.

And these are the days of the years of Abraham’s life which he lived, an hundred threescore and fifteen years. Then Abraham gave up the ghost, and died in a good old age, an old man, and full of years.
Genesis 25:7-8

Now, “Full of years” could be thought of in several ways.  It could mean a large number of years.  After all, Abraham was 175 at the time of his death, Job was 142, and Isaac lived to be a whopping 180 years old.  Whew, that’s living long!  “Full of years” could mean a lot of years.

Yet, it might also describe a life full of usefulness. A life permeated with meaning, and packed with purpose.  Maybe it means that in the years allotted to them, these good men fulfilled everything they set out to do, or were meant to do.

Full  adj
Containing or holding as much as possible.
Having no empty space.
Not lacking.
Filled, Maximum.
Complete.

Full of years is a life loaded – not just with work or business – but with significance.  Filling your days with cause and using it up in service.  To me, that is a fulfilling life.

Now, I don’t think I’d want to live 175 years, but I do know that in the years given me, I want them to mean something.  I want to live the years of my life fully committed and doing all I can to complete everything I was set here to do.  Yep, as long as the neurotransmitters in my brain are still firing and my hip bone is still functioning, I want to be anxiously engaged in a good cause.

Because, as I see it, life isn’t just to be lived linearly. Life is meant to be lived with depth and breadth, which means allowing goodness to plummet inward and extend outward, expanding the perimeters of your life.

Funny thing is – creating an existence grander than yourself does not take grand accomplishments. All it takes is doing a little good every day.  A smile here, a thank you note there.  A little more forgiveness.  A tad more love.

I think I’ll leave you with inspiration from some people with the same goal.

“My life is like my shoes – to be worn out in service.”
Spencer W. Kimball

“Time is all you have and you may find one day that you have less than you think.”
Randy Pausch

“Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.”
Mahatma Gandhi

“I don’t want to get to the end of my life and find that I lived just the length of it.  I want to have lived the width of it as well.”
Diane Ackerman

“You don’t get to choose how you are going to die. Or when. You can only decide how you are going to live. Now.”
Joan Baez

“I shall pass through this life but once. Any good, therefore, that I can do, let me do it now. Let me not defer or neglect it. For I shall never pass this way again.”
Etienne de Grellet

“Live every day as if it were your last and then some day you will be right.”
H.H. Morant

“Let your life mean something. Become an inspiration to others so that they may try to do more and to become more than they are today.”
Thomas D. Willhite

“Make your life a mission – not an intermission.”
Arnold H. Glasgow

Carpe Diem!

“When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me!’.”
Erma Bombeck

Happy New Year, friends.  Welcoming in 2015 with a new resolve of purpose just may be the beginning of your building a fulfilling life – a life Full of Years.

Cheers!
 

 

 

 
They are starting to put ads on our blog. We do not approve these and are not getting any residuals whatsoever, so I apologize for the content. I’ll see what I can do about it.

Leave a Reply

