In the Waiting Room

Waiting room Red Chair

Wait on the Lord: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the Lord.
Psalm 27:14

“You usually have to wait for that which is worth waiting for.”
Craig Bruce

“Make space in your life for the inevitable arrival of what you want.”
Danielle LaPorte

How am I at waiting?  Let’s just say I have had puh-lenty of experience, am still not a fan of waiting for what I want (who is?), but I have finally learned to re-frame the waiting periods in a new way.

Inactive Waiting is Torture
Inactive waiting is torture! You’ve heard the expression, “A watched pot never boils.” It never seems to boil because you are inactively waiting for it to happen. Inactivity is a sure way to get stuck and let your creativity get all sloppy.  You put on the brakes.  You see things through gray One Day Some Day lenses.  You start complaining.  Everything around you doesn’t quite match the dream.

Inactive waiting is the direct route to Slumpville.  Trust me, you don’t want to go there.

As one who has spent so much time in the Waiting Room that they’re about ready to give me my own executive corner office, believe me when I say that there is a better way!  An active, empowering way.

Patience is not simply the ability to wait – it is how we behave while we are waiting.

Here are some practical Principles for Active Waiting

Regard Waiting as Opportunity
This can be the best time!  Set small goals. Decompress. Calm before the storm. Regard this time as a chance to get in shape, study, organize, get finances in order to prepare for what is to come.  Active waiting is happily preparing for what is eventually coming your way.  Prepare for it.  Make space for it.  Now is your opportunity.

Distraction
Keep busy.  Stay creative.  But most importantly, distract yourself by living in the Present. Hard to do when the dream is so vivid.  But living in the present is the best exercise in Jedi Mind Tricks.  You see what you want on the horizon, yet you look at your current circumstance and appreciate what is now. “What I have today is enough,” you say to yourself.  “I am being prepared.”  “What is here in front of me is blessing my journey.”

Build Talents
You are a continually evolving individual. Use your waiting time to tap into other talents. Take a class. Finish the project. Practice the instrument. Book the adventure. En route to your dream come true, there are still so many discoveries to be made, and talents to yet build.

Appreciate Your Efforts
Up to this point, you’ve done what you can do.  This is a really gratifying place to be in. You’ve done your homework.  You’ve planted the seeds. You’ve taken care of business. Nothing to do now but, well, wait.  You’ve met the universe half way.  Good job! Appreciate those efforts and focus on today.

Waiting Time = Assessment Time
Of course the new career/contract will feel validating.  Yes, the romance will fill a void in your life.  Without a doubt, the adventure/move will be soul-stirring.  But minus those things, and you are still amazing.  You are good.  Now.  Today.  When you can learn to tap into that bedrock of dignity and self-worth, then your journey – not just its end – becomes rich and wonder-full.

“What we are waiting for is not as important as what happens to us while we are waiting.  Trust the process.”
Mandy Hale

Wait in Hopeful Expectation
My beloved Waiting Room dwellers, to wait is to live in hopeful expectation.  Trust the process. You don’t have to go through the “feeling like a loser – loosing your mind” kind of waiting.  One thing I’ve learned through decades in the Waiting Room is that our greatest growth is not in the answers we most desire, but in the One we cling to in the waiting.

“I waited patiently for the Lord; and he inclined unto me, and heard my cry. And he hath put a new song in my mouth.”
Psalm 40:1, 3

“Verily I say unto you my friends, fear not, let your hearts be comforted; yea, rejoice evermore, and in everything give thanks; Waiting patiently on the Lord for your prayers have entered into the ears of the Lord of Sabaoth.”
D&C 98:1-2

“I wait for the Lord, my soul doth wait, and in His word do I hope.”
Psalm 130:5

“Blessed are they that wait.”
Isaiah 30:18

 

 

 

They are starting to put ads on our blog. We do not approve these and are not getting any residuals whatsoever, so I apologize for the content. I’ll see what I can do about it.

Leave a Reply

